Thanks!: It’s good for your health

From them will come songs of thanksgiving
and the sound of rejoicing.
I will add to their numbers,
and they will not be decreased;
I will bring them honor,
and they will not be disdained.

Jeremiah30:19

The proof is in.  The Pilgrims had it right from the beginning.  Being thankful leads to longer life, better health and greater success.  The Wall Street Journal says it, so it must be true.  Today’s WSJ reports that an “attitude of gratitude” lasts long after the turkey turns into creamed turkey delight.  Its effect lingers into the post-triptophanic euphoria and beyond the weekend football games.  Click the image above and take your own thankfulness survey.  Find out how healthy and successful you might be.

For us at ICM, our thanksgiving list is a long one.  First, thanks to Lipscomb University President Randy Lowry whose vision made ICM possible.  Thanks to the Lipscomb Board of Trust for suspending disbelief long enough for this non-academic academic program to take flight.  Thank you to the generous benefactors who chose to remain anonymous and who gave a $1 million endowment to fund the Randy and Rhonda Lowry Chair of Conflict Management. Thanks to the Lipscomb University administration for supporting us while we got our sea legs underneath us.  Thanks to the Lipscomb faculty for tolerating us and treating us like colleagues.

Thanks go to the early student risk-takers who decided that this was a program they wanted to experiment with.  Thanks as well to all the students that have followed into a graduate program now numbering over 100 students on an ongoing basis that will require multiple sections next term to be able to accommodate the interest in this field.

Thanks to a great faculty of practitioners who come from all over the nation to create a phenomenal learning environment for our students unparalleled anywhere.  Thanks to the ICM Board of Advisors who have stuck with us as we developed our market, our message and our methods.  Thanks to the conflict management professional colleagues we have learned to value from across the nation who provide training, presentations and support to work we do at ICM.

Thanks also must go to those great relationships we have been blessed with at schools like Vanderbilt University, Southern Methodist University, Pepperdine University, University of Tennessee College of Law, Memphis University School of Law and Belmont University.

Thanks as well to the many community relationships we have been blessed to enjoy in Middle Tennessee and beyond in government, education, law enforcement, health care, non-profit management and faith based institutions of many shapes, sizes and belief.

Thanks to the ICM staff, a better gang you will not find.

Most importantly, thanks to a God who makes the impossible possible.

In short, our list is long.  We cannot express our thanksgiving well enough.  Just know that without you, we would have little to be thankful for.  Enjoy your holiday and give thanks.

3 Responses to Thanks!: It’s good for your health

  1. As I approach graduation, I am mindful of the blessings that I have received over the past two years as an ICM student. What I thought was a journey to find a new career has ended up being an adventure in developing an ever-deeper understanding of myself and how I fit into this world.

    From my class in mediation where I learned how to go below the line to find what was driving my choices; to the Apology and Forgiveness class where I learned about the impact of my words on others; to the Psychology of Conflict class where I came to understand why I sometimes get stuck in my drama; to the Group Facilitation class where I came to understand how to express my individuality in a way that most benefits a group… each and every piece of my class work at ICM has brought me to a fuller and richer way of looking at the way I interact with others.

    Thank you Larry Bridgesmith for believing in me when I walked into your office almost two years ago. I smile when I think back… I imagine you knew just how transformative this experience would be… and you let me learn it on my own.

  2. Tammy says:

    Larry, the wonderful thing about giving thanks is that it creates an endless echo as those of us thanked reach out to thank in turn. I consider my life more blessed, more enriched and greatly enhanced by having connected with all of you at Lipscomb. Warm Thanksgiving wishes to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

